The making of a podcast

This symbol has haunted me for about the past week.  I clicked on it daily to start yet another GarageBand file to begin recording, editing and editing some more.  Before this project, I was definitely no expert on podcasts but I’d listened to a few, and I had no idea how much work went into making one.

Using GarageBand was definitely an experience.  I’ve been writing for my school’s newspaper this semester, so I’ve had a little experience with GarageBand, but recording was about as far as I got.  When it came to editing, my partner Greta and I were both pretty clueless.  But after hours spent with the program, we eventually got the hang of it, and I think we both had more fun than we planned with this project.  When I told my boyfriend about it, he said, “That sounds like a pretty fun project.”  My response? Ehhh, not really.  But 10 hours of work later, it really wasn’t so bad.  I actually enjoyed putting everything together into one final product that I truly felt proud of.  We ended up re-recording all of our parts on Tuesday night, but I think it was worth it.  Not only was it a LOT easier than going through and editing out every little “um” or awkward pause, but I think it made the podcast a lot better in the end.  I’m proud of the work we did and I hope Greta can say the same!

One thought on “The making of a podcast

Leave a Reply

