Net neutrality

In class on Monday, we discussed an issue that I was unaware of: net neutrality.  Net neutrality is basically the idea of a free Internet.  We visit whatever websites we want to whenever we want to.  Unfortunately, there are people trying to change that.  I found this video on a website called Save the Internet and I think it sums it up pretty well.

I agree with many of the points in this article from the same website.  Charging customers more money for more websites and making it so that bigger, more popular websites run faster than smaller, newer websites is very unfair in my opinion.  I think the biggest issue is that this makes it very hard for entrepreneurs to do anything online.  The websites with the most money will be the ones continually being visited the most, and I find that to be really unfair.  People will have very small chances of being able to create online businesses, blogs or websites of any kind that have the potential to become popular.  One of my favorite websites, PostSecret, started out as a small blog.  Many people know about it and the owner, Frank Warren, has events all across the country and has even published five books full of the postcards.  If net neutrality was taken away from us, people like Frank would never be able to start a small website and turn it into what PostSecret has become.  I check Frank’s secrets weekly and I know many others do the same.  I find his website to be very important in letting people know that everyone has problems that they don’t always show on the surface.  This is just one of many examples why net neutrality is so essential for us to have.

Leave a Reply

