Portfolio websites

It’s no secret that the Internet is the new way of communicating, and that includes when it comes to looking for jobs and sending out resumes.  Many people have made websites for their portfolios, and I found a few that I really liked.

Krishna Chatianya's "Velagapati"

The first portfolio website I came across that caught my eye was one for Krishna Chaitanya’s web design business, Velagapati.  I love the simplicity of her website; even though she only uses black, white and grey as the base colors for her website, it still looks beautiful.  The neutral tones also help her colorful work to stand out in the actual portfolio section of her website.  She only has three categories to navigate through, but still has a lot of information on herself and her work.

Jason Walker's "Two 24 Studios"

Another portfolio website I liked was for Jason Walker’s web design and development company, Two 24 Studios.  I absolutely love his layout.  The black city background with blue, pink, green and a few yellow accents looks so sleek and stylish in my opinion.  Walker has lots of information on his website, yet it’s still easy to navigate through and see and read everything.

Darek Nyckowiak's "The Toke"

The Toke is another web design portfolio website I really liked.  No surprise, as it also has a black background with bright accents, but what I really love about this site is the way the actual portfolio is set up.  It’s very interactive and almost three-dimensional.  You can choose which layout you would like to view the artist, Darek Nyckowiak’s, work in, and I think they’re all pretty cool.  Nyckowiak’s navigation is very easy to use and operate; like Chaitanya’s, it contains a lot of information in what seems like a small space.

I think all of these are great examples of portfolio sites, especially considering they’re all for web/graphic designers.  If you were looking for someone to design your personal website, you wouldn’t think twice about contacting someone whose own website looked like crap, would you?  I know I wouldn’t!

While my portfolio website mock-up will probably not even come close to the fabulous designs on the ones I mentioned, I’m hoping to use the black-with-colorful-accents theme because I love the sleekness of black, but I also love a lot of color.  Hopefully mine will turn out looking decent!

One thought on “Portfolio websites

Leave a Reply

