Cook in-the-making

I’ve just started my third year at Oklahoma State, and I’m definitely starting to realize there’s more to meals than Ramen noodles and on-campus restaurants. My freshman year, I probably ate my weight in Which Wich, which was right downstairs from my dorm room. Last year, I lived on campus (in a different building) with my best friend and because we had a kitchen on our floor this time, we took to cooking a little more than I had the previous year. Our meals got about as complicated as Hamburger Helper and lemon pepper-seasoned chicken with instant mashed potatoes, rice or something easy like that.

But this year, I’m determined to learn how to cook good-tasting, not-too-fattening (I don’t want to go too far and say healthy) meals. My mom is an amazing cook, and unfortunately, I think my sister got all those genes. Hopefully I can scrap up some cooking genes of my own this year, though. My roommates and I are stocked up on cookbooks; the one I’ve used the most is from the Any Bitch… line of cookbooks (and by bitch, they mean Babe In Total Control of Herself, of course).

Courtesy of anybitchcookcooks.com.

The title is what first caught my eye when I saw “Any Bitch Can Cook” in a small gift shop in Breckenridge, Colo. I ended up buying “Any Bitch Can Lose It,” filled with healthier options than the other books. My sister the fabulous baker chose “Sugar Bitches.”

So far, the book has served us well with healthy but tasty recipes. I eventually want to buy “Any Bitch Can Cook,” “Any Bitch Can Drink” and maybe a few others. If anyone’s interested, the books can be bought on the website and a few are also on Amazon.

Easy, tasty recipes are my favorite to try so if anyone has anything they like to make, I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

