Maybe next year, I’ll start acting my age…

That line’s appropriate for two reasons: my birthday was yesterday, and I’m seeing the man who wrote it into one of his songs tonight in Oklahoma City. I’ll be celebrating my birthday with a little-known, country-ish singer by the name of Corey Smith. If you don’t know him, you should give him a listen. His acoustic country sound and his relatable lines are what I and many others love about him. The first time I heard anything from him was two years ago at the annual concert Calf Fry at the Tumbleweed here in Stillwater. I listened to some of his music in the car on the way to the concert, and from his sound and lyrics I did not expect to see a middle-aged man with a shaved head and sunglasses, but that’s what I got, and I loved it.

Since then, he’s been in Tulsa at Cain’s Ballroom, which I was too broke to go to at the time, and I saw an ad in our school newspaper last week that he’d be at the Tumbleweed again on Nov. 10. My first thought was, “Yes! I get to see him again!” But you see, Nov. 10, last night, was my 21st birthday. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Stillwater and the Tumbleweed, it’s a country dance club that attracts an interesting crowd. I went once when I moved to Stillwater and have gone to two concerts there since. To be honest, the Tumbleweed was the last place I wanted to celebrate my 21st birthday. Luckily, I got online and saw he was playing in Oklahoma City tonight, where I’m from and planned on going for the rest of the weekend anyway. I got a lucky birthday surprise!

I can’t wait for the concert tonight; another exciting thing is it will be my first 21 and up show. Unfortunately, I don’t know if I’ll be taking part in any 21 and up activities; I think I had enough last night to last me a while.

I definitely encourage everyone to take a listen to Corey Smith; you won’t regret it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

