Real World Portland: The A-Nia-Lation Proclomation

Am I the only one getting a little sick of Nia? Sheesh. I know reality TV is all about ratings, but seasons in the past have had their fair share of drama while also having real, relatable cast members. Nia is just…too much for me. I think she was brought on 100 percent for ratings simply for viewers to hate her. Well, MTV, it’s working. Enough of that rant…

A lot of this episode revolves around the aftermath of the huge Nia/Jordan blowout last episode. I think both Jordan and Nia are in the wrong on this one, but Jordan was the only one to own up to his mistakes. He was 100 percent in the wrong making the monkey noises, regardless of if it was “to make a point.” I completely agree with him that it’s totally backwards for African-Americans to use the N-word so freely, but that’s a whooole other discussion. I also HATE Jessica talking about how Jordan “put his hands” on Nia, and Nia claiming she felt threatened when Jordan came in to her dark room while she was half naked. The incident where he “put his hands” on her was seen to me as something flirty and playful, NOT violent in any way. Both of them were laughing and I was in no way frightened by either of their behavior at that time. Nia also is in underwear more often than she’s clothed, so with the defense that she was half naked when Jordan barged into her room, my question is, when is she not? In no way am I condoning any violent behavior because she chooses to walk around in her underwear (more power to you!), but again, I didn’t see Jordan as threatening or violent at these points. Point blank, they were both in the wrong, but Nia chose to blame it all on Jordan when she started the fight. I also found it interesting Anastasia was the only one to stand up for Jordan through all this when they clashed so harshly in the first episode. She was definitely the voice of reason this episode and the only roommate who chose to look at both sides of the story.

Jordan’s friends from home came to visit this week, and his best friend Taylor is obviously in love with him. She got drunk and lovey-dovey and jealous and annoying quickly.

Johnny’s heavy drinking started bothering Avery this week when instead of going to Scmizza and getting the girls pizza like they asked, they hung out for a few hours and got wasted. She seems to get over things quickly, which is good as far as being laid back, but I think not so good when it comes to having a relationship with someone. If something is really bothering her, she needs to stick to her guns and not forgive Johnny so quickly. I like Avery a lot, but I’m starting to get tired of her saying she’s “not a typical girl.” Saying that makes you a “typical girl”…

What did you think this week? What do you think about the aftermath of Jordan and Nia’s blowout? Does Avery need to make a bigger point about Johnny’s drinking or was it right to forgive him right away?

2 thoughts on “Real World Portland: The A-Nia-Lation Proclomation

  1. I fuc*ing hate Nia!! Couldn’t MTV find anyone else to join the cast?? She’s the reason I have stopped watching this show and I have watched all the seasons to date.

    • I agree! I’m still watching, but she is just too much for me. She is 100 percent in this for the 15 minutes of fame (which I’m glad Avery called her out on, if you saw the after show from the episode where she was fired) and MTV is 100 percent in it for the ratings. I have to wonder if Joi coming and going was planned ahead of time because I don’t know how Nia didn’t get picked the first time around with all the drama she’s caused.

Leave a Reply

