Whoever said orange is the new pink was seriously disturbed.

Forgive the “Legally Blonde” quote. But since hearing about the new Netflix series, “Orange is the New Black,” that quote always pops into my head. I’ve only watched the movie about 100 times, so I can quote nearly the entire thing.

Moving on.

Image

 

It’s summertime, so I can catch up on TV shows  I like, or just watch entire seasons of shows I’m interested in on Netflix and Hulu Plus. So far I’ve watched both seasons of Revenge (I highly recommend it by the way) and am almost through the first season of Orange is the New Black after hearing about it from friends and online. You definitely have to have an open mind when watching this show, but it’s a great show. While there are main storylines, every episode there are flashbacks and you gradually learn how each of the characters got into prison. The main character, Piper, is a regular woman from the suburbs who is in prison for being caught up in a drug ring in her early 20s with her ex-lesbian partner, who happens to be in the same prison with her. I can’t give much more of the story away, but I have to say I’m on episode 10 of 13 and I’m sad I’m almost done. When will the second season be available? Ha.

My favorite part of the show is in my opinion, it really centers around the fact that all kinds of people make bad decisions and get caught. Those in prison are more than just felons. We all make bad decisions and we all make mistakes, some just worse than others and some are unlucky in getting caught. Piper isn’t someone you (or she) would expect to go to prison, yet she does get to know the women in her same situation and realize she might have more in common with them than she originally thought.

Netflix is cheap. And worth it. And even its original series have proven to be pretty legit. Has anyone else watched the show? What do you think of it?

Leave a Reply

