What everyone seems to be talking about.

That’s right, I’m jumping on the bandwagon and posting about Miley Cyrus–talking about who seems desperate to be talked about lately. To be honest, I’ve been on that bandwagon for a while. I like Miley Cyrus, and I like her music. It just seems like a sell-out move to make an entire blog post dedicated to her (because I know I have so many loyal readers and this will eventually find its way to Miley, right?).

Moving on. Like I said, I really do like Miley Cyrus. I bought Bangerz the week it was released and bought tickets to her tour just the other day. So although I might be on the bandwagon of talking about Miley, I’m surely not on the bandwagon of hating on her.

It’s funny to look back on when she was criticized for this album cover:

Check out those abs though.

Yes, I own that album. Yes, I love it. Yes, I use it as workout music often. But it’s hilarious to think that everyone thought Miley was so scandalous during her “Can’t Be Tamed” days, when now she seems very tamed back then compared to her “We Can’t Stop” days.

I won’t say I agree with the outrageous things Miley has been criticized for lately. I’m no advocate of drugs; I’ve never touched them and don’t ever plan to. Having said that, I highly respect Miley’s decisions to do whatever the hell she wants and not apologize for it. I read an article on Cosmo.com recently that said Miley’s not apologizing because she’s already apologized way too much. At first glance, I thought, what?, as did many other readers who commented on the story. But after I read the story, I remembered all the scandals Miley has had in the past, even during her Hannah Montana days. From “racy” (fully-clothed) pictures to smoking salvia (whatever that is), Miley has been criticized for a lot during her childhood fame. I can guarantee you she’s not the only pop star or 20-something experimenting with drugs, she’s just one of the few who has been flaunting it so incessantly lately. Now that she’s grown up, I think she’s had it with apologizing for things she’s not sorry for. And shouldn’t we support that? Do we really want another half-assed celebrity apology so obviously written by a publicist? To be honest, nobody would buy it anyway, so what’s point?

Watching her in interviews, Miley is honestly pretty well-spoken and comes off as an intelligent young woman. After watching her documentary on MTV, I realized she actually knows exactly what she’s doing. Her end goal is to get people talking about her and in the end, buy her record. And it’s worked. After the infamous VMA performance, “We Can’t Stop” and “Wrecking Ball” were the top two songs on iTunes. Despite all the criticism, I’d call that success. She knows she looked ridiculous during that performance, but she also knew it’d get people talking, which it did (for weeks and weeks on end). In the end, I think she’s a smart girl and I think that’s something to respect. Whether you agree with her decisions or not, we should agree that being 100 percent who you are and doing what you want to do instead of what your boss wants to do is something that should be seen far more often than it is, in the entertainment industry or otherwise. As a young woman around Miley’s age, I wouldn’t dream of doing the things she’s been doing lately, but more power to her for doing what she wants and not backing down.

What are your thoughts on America’s biggest pop star right now? Love her or hate her? Have you listened to her new music? Let me know your thoughts!

I had to wrap it up with a gorgeous picture, of course.

Leave a Reply

