Rocky Mountain high.

Phew! It’s been a week of vacation recovery for me as my boyfriend and I spent the 4th of July weekend in Denver. We went all out, right? This started out as a small getaway staying with his cousin and her family, and ended up turning into an amazing trip staying in downtown Denver. I’m a total summer girl and part of me was a bit teary-eyed that I wouldn’t be able to spend a classic summer holiday out in 100-degree Oklahoma heat and humidity, but we had a blast. We had about three and a half days in Denver and we did so much. It made me want to take more weekend trips like this to big cities – Chicago, St. Louis, Kansas City, etc. We trekked on for the 10-hour drive at about 4 a.m. on Thursday morning (yes, you read that right). As you can imagine, it totally messed with my schedule. We went to McDonald’s around 10, and my first thought was, “We’ve been up for six hours. Are they even still serving breakfast? Oh wait…” But leaving that early got us to Denver about 2:30 p.m., which gave us lots of extra time we wouldn’t have had otherwise. Overall, the trip was awesome. We ate tons of great food and had tons of great beer that unfortunately, we can’t get in good old Oklahoma (so of course we stocked up before heading home). I know you want to hear allllll about it! Our hotel downtown was prime location. We dropped our stuff off when we arrived and found we were a very short walk from the 16th Street Mall, which is about a mile-long stretch of vendors, stores, restaurants, bars, cafes, street performers – anything you could think of was there. A co-worker of mine had recently told me she discovered the beauty of H&M in Las Vegas, and shopaholic that I am, of course I researched this outdoor mall before the trip to see all the goodies I could get in Denver that I couldn’t get at home. Ding ding ding! I found an H&M. There have been rumors of us getting one in Oklahoma City, and I hope it’s true. It reminded me of Forever 21 but with a better selection of professional clothes. I was in heaven and spent $100 in the first hour we were in Denver. Oops. Along with shopping, another thing that is always a favorite of mine about vacation is stuffing my face with delicious food. I researched this beforehand as well. What can I say? I like to be prepared. After reading amazing reviews and my boyfriend’s cousin insisting we try it no matter how long the wait, we ventured out to Snooze A.M. Eatery on our first morning, which happened to be the 4th of July. We thought of all the days we’d be there, that would be the least busy for a restaurant. Well, we still ended up waiting about two hours (and by waited I mean we went down the street to a local pub and had a couple drinks), but man was it good.

Breakfast pot pie with hash browns.

Breakfast pot pie with hash browns.

  That tasted even better than it looked. It was like a lighter biscuits and gravy. And by light, I mean flaky and delicious pastry; by no means was this light in calories. That 3/4 eaten pancake behind my plate was also to die for. I believe it was a cinnamon dole pancake with cinnamon butter and pecans on top and it was heavenly. My boyfriend had Caprese salad Benedict, which was super unique and also super delicious.  We decided our long wait was worth it. That day, we ventured out to the Denver Zoo. For some reason, zoos are always fun no matter how old you are. And most of the time, I say a zoo is a zoo – how is this zoo any better than our zoo? (How many times can I say zoo in one sentence?) BUT the Denver Zoo was so much more up close and personal with the animals than I’ve ever experienced. At the Oklahoma City Zoo (which is actually pretty impressive), the giraffes are a good 1/4 mile away from the fence. But look how close we were!

20140710-083556-30956881.jpg

Well hello, Mr. Giraffe.

  That night, we went to the Colorado Rockies game. I’m not a big baseball fan, but my boyfriend is, and it is the classic all-American sport, isn’t it? It was raining on our way there, which was no bueno, but luckily, it cleared up and we had a great time with hot dogs, beer and of course, fireworks!

20140710-083600-30960084.jpg

How great do those fireworks look above the Rockies logo?

  Saturday was brewery day – another big reason for this trip. We started out with breakfast at Syrup, which prides itself on its homemade…you guessed it, syrup. I had their “pigs in a Snuggie,” a play on pigs in a blanket, which consisted of sausage patties baked into the pancakes. It was amazing. I tried the strawberry syrup and the maple vanilla syrup… I think I could have drunk the maple vanilla on its own (in private, of course). Steven had the crunchy French toast, which was French toast rolled in granola. I LOVE granola so I loved it, but it was pretty dense and filling. He ate one and a half of the three slices. We toured the infamous Coors brewery and then toured Boulder Beer in Boulder. While Coors was cool because it’s nationally known, the Boulder tour was SO much fun. We were up close and personal in all the rooms…and we got more samples than we did at Coors. 20140710-083600-30960966.jpg 20140710-083602-30962657.jpg 20140710-083603-30963547.jpg Unfortunately, I didn’t get many pictures in Boulder Brewery. It was a blast though. That night, we had our fancy dinner at Elway’s and it was super duper fancy and delicious. Sunday, we finished up our shopping… 20140710-083603-30963862.jpg   Hey, we had to stock up! We also went to Water World, so I got to get a little bit of a tan this 4th of July weekend. Overall, we had a blast! We decided we should definitely take these weekend trips more often. We got a lot done in just a few days and had a great time! I need another vacation already… 😉

Leave a Reply

